• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Pedro Bessa

Pedro Bessa

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 March 2007 - 04:09 AM

We came from dust. We will return to dust. Does the universe transform old beings into new beings from dust? When I am transformed into an other being, do feelings continue?

#2 Mr.Kite

Mr.Kite

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:I am a student at UCSD studying Neuroscience, Psychology, and Philosophy in an interdisciplinary program.

Posted 20 March 2007 - 01:51 PM

No.

No brain, no feeling. Once the structure of your body breaks down into dust, and are no longer organized into a being with a brain, there will be nothing left capable of experiencing feelings.

#3 Pedro Bessa

Pedro Bessa

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 22 March 2007 - 06:02 AM

"(...) there will be nothing left capable of experiencing feelings." What happens after the dust is reorganized into a being with a brain?

#4 Mr.Kite

Mr.Kite

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:I am a student at UCSD studying Neuroscience, Psychology, and Philosophy in an interdisciplinary program.

Posted 29 March 2007 - 10:31 PM

Then a new brain is formed, with a new awareness. An awareness that is different from the old one, because the organizational structure is new. If you replicated the previous brain, atom for atom, and preserved all the kinetic energy of all the particles, then you would reproduce the same person with the same feelings and the same awareness.

#5 peacan pie

peacan pie

No Longer Hidden

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 04:59 PM

Of couse, that's only if you believe we came from dust. Ask yourself, " Does dust feel?", and then you'll have your answer. wink.gif